Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han Book ReviewTitle: P.S. I Still Love You
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: May 26, 2015
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ / 5

From Simon & Schuster: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.

When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

My Review: P.S. I STILL LOVE YOU is the follow up to TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE and every bit as charming and heartfelt. I listened to the audiobook version for this installment too because Laura Knight Keating’s narration is amazing.

It’s tricky writing a young adult novel that captures the readership of both young and old and Han brilliantly masters it. Some YA books leave me rolling my eyes because they are too silly but Han’s writing engages me and transports me back to my teenaged years. Her characters are lovable, sharp and witty, and when I want to dislike them I can’t because each one has a strong moral compass.

The all too familiar plot has Lara Jean stuck choosing between Peter Kavinsky and John Ambrose McClaren. Like most teenaged boys Peter does not wear his heart on his sleeve and his facade is somewhat coarse which makes me want to scream but on the inside he’s loving and compassionate.  No spoilers here – read the book to find out who Lara Jean chooses!

Han’s narrative is adorable and upbeat making this an engaging and enjoyable story.  This is a young adult novel with mature content so it may not be suitable for all young audiences.

One comment

  1. […] It’s a literary, coming-of-age story journeying thru personal growth, respect and acceptance. P.S. I STILL LOVE YOU – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Han’s narrative is adorable and upbeat making this an […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

